Diminished Value Claims in South Dakota

Does South Dakota Allow Diminished Value Claims?

Yes. The diminished value of your vehicle is recoverable in the state of South Dakota in third party cases only.

Is it mandatory for motorists to carry liability insurance in South Dakota?

South Dakota law requires that any person who licenses and/or operates a motor vehicle must show proof of financial responsibility. Most people comply with this requirement by purchasing automobile insurance. If you chose to prove financial responsibility by alternate means, proof can be a certificate of deposit from the State Treasurer or a Certificate of Self-Insurance. The minimum amounts of liability coverage are $25,000 for bodily injury or death, per person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death to multiple people in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage.

Do you handle diminished value claims in South Dakota?

Yes. Although we are based in Texas, our services are available across the United States including South Dakota.

South Dakota Diminished Value Claims Information:

  • Statute of Limitations – 6 Years from the date of the accident.
  • From the at-Fault Party’s Insurance Company – Yes
  • Under your own policy’s Uninsured Motorist Coverage – No

Information by state

South Dakota Diminished Value Claims
Whenever you need a diminished value assessment or report, or an appraisal report for losses related to any vehicle – car, motorcycle, boat, or RV, contact EAG.
Wrecked Car? - Reclaim your Diminished Value